I seem to remember that a while back I was struggling to define “evangelical,” a term I had used rather liberally to refer to (ironically) the liberal church. Now this comes out and puts me to shame.
Also this: “Telling people that they need to be born again is the same as telling them they need to be predestinated to be children of God. It’s rather pointless.”

Biblical Horizons

During the last couple of weeks, Douglas Wilson has issued several posts over on his Blog and Mablog blog that deal with “evangelicalism” and who is and who is not an “evangelical.” In the course of these postings, Doug has written that while I am a fine Christian who has much to offer everyone, I’m not what he means by “an evangelical.” I’m a conservative Biblicistic protestant (my phrase), but not an “evangelical.” See here and here. None of this really bothers me, but I have received more than one request that I comment on the issue involved, including from Doug himself. Hence this first of a series of essays.

(The essay of mine to which Doug refers is Thoughts on Sovereign Grace and Regeneration: Some Tentative Explorations. Biblical Horizons Occasional Paper No. 32, January, 2003; available for $5.00 from Biblical Horizons, Box 1096, Niceville, FL 32588; or see

View original post 1,449 more words

3 comments

Leave a Reply

