Jesus the Truth

And believing God is different from merely believing in God. We are told in James (2:19) that even the demons believe in God, but they ultimately don’t believe God, and believing God on a moment-by-moment basis is at the root of redeemed human doing.

— Science and Grace: God’s Reign in the Natural Sciences (Don Petcher, Tim Morris)

I have, in the past, often opted out of theological arguments with brethren that threaten to get nasty (the arguments, not the brethren; usually) by saying “Well, we both believe in God, and that’s what matters.”

The Presbyterian in me has now won out. Because that’s not the whole story. Are there things we’ll find out we’re wrong about when we face the Father? Absolutely. And probably almost everything. But, there are still fundamental truths that have not changed since God sang the world into being approximately 6000 years ago. And we can’t budge on those, even if some of our brethren have.

Creation/evolution for example. It’s a shameful secret that there’s no evidence for evolution, and most of the intellectual anti-creationists reluctantly admit that. It wasn’t God, of course, but evolution just plain doesn’t make sense. But I’ve had self-proclaimed Christians tell me that there’s more evidence for (theistic) evolution than creation, and so that’s what they’ll believe. I argue for a while, but no one ever wins, so I turn to my caveat above so I can quit arguing for awhile.

Could God have directed evolution? He could have, but it’s in direct opposition to his nature (I’ve written on that before). If I get to the Judgment seat and Jesus says to me, “Hey, buddy, that whole Bible thing, we kinda just threw some stuff in there to make it shorter. We really just used evolution,” I’ll say “Praise be to God.” But until that happens, I’ll trust God when he says he created the world in six days, by the Word of his power, and all very good. I’ll trust God not to lie to me.

And that’s what got me thinking. You say we can laugh about who was wrong after we die and are sitting with Jesus? I’m not so sure anymore.

Let me get this straight. You called God a liar, to his face, disregarded his special revelation to you, ignored the voice of the heavens and the earth that praise him, worshiped the work of man instead of the work of God, and you expect the blood of Christ to cover you? Sure, we all sin, but the first thing that Satan did was call God a liar. You’ve bought into the serpent’s lie, you’re taking it to the bitter end, and you think God will just disregard your open contempt of him? No. He’ll give you what you want. He’ll say “Thy will be done.” And that won’t be fun, I promise.

So basically, it boils down to “do you trust God?” If the answer is “I trust him to save me from my sins, but that whole infallibility thing, I’ll be the judge of that,” then you mean “No, I don’t, I am the master of my fate.”

You can continue telling me that God directed evolution. And I’ll continue to say “Let him be the judge of that.” If only we had some way of knowing what He….oh wait:

For in six days the LORD made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested the seventh day.

— Exodus 20:11

Ah, but Moses wasn’t God. He could be wrong, he’s just a man…oh wait:

Do not think that I shall accuse you to the Father; there is one who accuses you—Moses, in whom you trust. For if you believed Moses, you would believe Me; for he wrote about Me. But if you do not believe his writings, how will you believe My words?

— John 5:45ff

This isn’t rocket science. Believe God did what he said he did.

I’m not even talking to the atheists in the group. We’ll deal with you later. I’m talking about the people who claim to love Jesus, yet call him a liar. As C. S. Lewis said, Jesus was either a liar, a lunatic, or Lord. He cannot be but one.

“Well, I love Jesus, you’re just being hateful.” No, I’m concerned for your eternal salvation. Quit calling God a liar. Quit cherrypicking through the parts of the Bible that make you uncomfortable to get to the mushy bits. You love Christ? Keep his commandments. Feed his sheep. Believe in him. Stop calling him a liar.

 

“I love Jesus, but he lies.”

No, you lie. Repent, go and sin no more.

Leave a Reply

