Musical Explorations #4: “I Saw God Today”

I just walked down the street to the coffee shop
Had to take a break
I’d been by her side for eighteen hours straight
I saw a flower growing in the middle of the sidewalk
Pushing up through the concrete
Like it was planted right there for me to see
The flashin’ lights, the honkin’ horns
All seemed to fade away
In the shadow of that hospital at 5:08
I saw God today

[Chorus:]
I’ve been to church
I’ve read the book
I know He’s here, but I don’t look
Near as often as I should
Yeah, I know I should
His fingerprints are everywhere
I’d just slow down to stop and stare
Opened my eyes and man I swear
I saw God today

I saw a couple walking by they were holding hands
Man, she had that glow
Yeah I couldn’t help but notice she was starting to show
I stood there for a minute takin’ in the sky
Lost in that sunset
A splash of amber melted in the shades of red

[Chorus]

I got my face pressed up against the nursery glass
She’s sleeping like a rock
My name on her wrist wearing tiny pink socks
She’s got my nose, she’s got her mama’s eyes
My brand new baby girl
She’s a miracle
I saw God today

George Strait is about as Christian as they come. Good, honest man, keeping the cowboy country alive and the same as he’s always done it. This particular song, released just last year, is no exception.

It is in much the same vein as the previously discussed “There Is a God,” by Lee Ann Womack. The singer is filled with simple yet overwhelming awe at the big, and little, things that God has created. The earth is full of the Glory of the Lord.

Even us die-hard Christians often loose sight of this. Science is good, yes, it’s how God made the world to work. But too many times, we forget that God in fact did paint the sunsets, that he makes flowers grow and he brings new life into the world every day.

We know He’s here, He’s everywhere, but we don’t look. He’s not hiding. In fact, the whole creation proclaims His glory so loudly that the only way we can’t see Him is if we try, by way of our sinful nature, to ignore Him.

Ignoring God is hard. It’s darn near impossible. But somehow, day after day, we do it. And we loose track of His true glory that He has made for us and for His glory. If we just look, He’s created a world for us to enjoy and wonder in. Let’s not ignore it.

2 comments

  1. Nick House

    Great song. I cry (in a manly way, of course) whenever I hear it. I can’t add anything to your analysis other than “yes”, so I’ll leave it at at that.

Leave a Reply

