Musical Explorations #3: “Dear Mr. God”

Dear Mr. God,
I’m writin’ You today
Because it seems like lately
I’ve forgotten how to pray
I know I don’t need this pen
But everybody likes to get
A letter now and then
I’m sorry for not writin’ more

Chorus:
‘Cause I need you
But it’s hard to see
Why anyone as big as You
Needs anything from me
I know You’re there
So how ya been?
I’m alright but I can’t lie,
Sometimes I feel like givin’ in
You’re all I’ve got

Dear Mr. God,
Sometimes I wish
You lived next door
So over coffee You could tell me
What You started all this for
I guess you saw
That sunrise yesterday
Thanks for the reminder
That You’re never gone away
It gives me hope
Telling You what You already know

I need you
But it’s hard to see
Why anyone as big as you
Needs anything from me
I know You’re there
So how’ve You been?
I’m all right but I can’t lie
Sometimes I feel like givin’ in

Dear Mr. God,
Tell me do You ever cry
When we forget to thank You
For the good things in our lives?
I know I can’t always understand
Why You do the things You do
But I know in the end
I’ll make it through
If I stand next to You
So here I am

Dear Mr. God,
I’m writin’ you today
Because it seems like lately
I’ve forgotten how to pray

This song was written and recorded by the Warren Brothers for the film Letters to God. They discuss it here.

Why do we pray? We know that God hears our thoughts and knows our desires before we ask. The answer of course, is simple: we do not have because we do not ask.

As regards the song itself, it has a solid, simple sound and stirring delivery. Not really any theological problems except for the line in the chorus:

But it’s hard to see
Why anyone as big as you
Needs anything from me

We know that God is self-sufficient without out us and does not need our prayers or adoration. Following this line of thought leads to the conclusion that, before Creation, God was somehow less than complete; that He is only perfect in conjunction with Creation itself.

Of course, this is complete and utter nonsense.

On the positive side, the song shows an acceptance of bad things that happen, because it’s all part of God’s plan. Not everything He decrees as His Will is something that we like. Tough luck. We all deserve hellfire and nothing more. Anything other than that is an incredible blessing, and this song recognizes that.

And one more thing I must mention:

Tell me do You ever cry?

John 11:35 – “Jesus wept.”

Stylistically the song has a very country sound to it. Although it was written and recorded specifically for the movie, it would not surprise me to see this included on a future album.

Overall, a very good moving song, with an excellent if slightly skewed message.

5 comments

  1. dancinginafishbowl

    *thumbs up*
    “We have not because we do not ask.”
    I love your concise answers to things that it takes me 500 words to say. 😛

  2. Nick House

    Great articles and insight, only I can’t listen to any of the songs because my computer at home is too slow to load up YouTube. I do wish you would give your opinion on the song “I Saw God Today”, which brings a tear to my eye every time I listen. Another good theological George Strait song which makes me cry (In a manly way, of course), is “Love Without End, Amen”. Your opinion on that is needed.

  3. Nick House

    In that case, I’m tempted to ask for vast sums of money. Probably procured through bank robbery, larceny, taxation and other criminal means.

Leave a Reply

